2: General work overview – Feedback and listening activities

After a review session some time ago, I believe my points to improve upon are relevant. But there remains one large oversight on my part:

What genre am I focusing my development on?

From the top of my head, I was able to pin the genre down to a rather broad category of “indie” based on the artists that I have recorded, and continue to record. But Indie is an extremely wide ranging genre, with everything from simple 3 piece bands to much larger groups encompassing synths and heavily processed instruments. It was clear that I needed to narrow my field of research.

After talking to Emilio (the frontman of a band whom I’ve recorded numerous times and am currently recording for further assessments), I was able to pick apart the areas that he finds inspiration from, and more accurately pin down the category that his music could be defined by.

Rather than label a genre or subgenre (something that I find very hard to do within the bracket of indie), I’ve made a short list of artists/songs/albums which reflect areas shown within the music I will be recording over the coming months:

  • Kings of Leon – Aha Shake Heartbreak (Album)
  • Arcade Fire – The Suburbs (Album, but in particular the title song is very similar to one song I will be submitting)
  • Arctic Monkeys – Fluorescent Adolescent (Song – although some of their other material is also applicable)
  • Elliot smith – Waltz #2 (song)
  • The Fray – How to save a life (song)

The works in this list were picked due to their instrumentation and/ or general “vibe” being similar to what I’m currently recording.

Now that I’ve established a firm base of songs to analyse, I would also like to mention that I will be beginning the Alton Everest listening exercises this evening.

I shall start by concentrating on the vocal qualities of the songs mentioned and completing a few of the listening exercises. I will post my findings over the coming weekend.

Leave a Reply

